Home>Taipei Film Festival “New Talent Competition” Winners Unveiled

Taipei Film Festival “New Talent Competition” Winners Unveiled


Youth wins Grand Prize and Baby Blues nabs Special Jury Prize

On July 3rd evening, the winners of the 2013 International New Talent Competition were revealed at Taipei Zhongshan Hall. After two hours of deliberation and voting, the jury led by Chinese director Huang Jianxin decided to give the Grand Prize to Israeli film Youth with a cash award of NT$600,000. Actress Shirili Deshe Paula accepted the prize on the director Tom Shoval’s behalf, and said that it is a great encouragement to him, since Youth is his debut film.

The other major accolade of the competition, the Special Jury Prize, was given to Polish film Baby Blues by Kasia Rosłaniec. Rosłaniec was unable to attend the ceremony since she is busy shooting her new film in Poland. The Festival will send the trophy along with the cash award of NT$300,000 to her.

President Jury Huang Jianxin commented that the nominated films of the competition this year were of high caliber, and they decided to present two other Special Mentions to Northwest by Danish director by Michael Noer and Together by Taiwanese director Hsu Chao-Jen. When receiving the award, Hsu said he was elated to be recognized, especially after the film finished its theatrical run half a year ago, and hoped it would continue its winning streak at the Taipei Film Awards on July 20th.

Swedish film Call Girl garnered the Audience Choice Award. It was a close race between the film and two other competitors, IFF Rotterdam’s audience award winner Matterhorn, and Polish film Loving. During accepting the award, producer Mimi Spang said she was ecstatic and surprised that Call Girl managed to win the audience’s recognition, since the film is long and tackles an extremely dark subject.


Taipei Film Festival 2013 International New Talent Competition Winners


Grand Prize with a cash award of NT$600,000 for the director

Youth directed by Tom Shoval (Israel / Germany)


Special Jury Prize with a cash award of NT$300,000 for the director

Baby Blues directed by Kasia Rosłaniec (Poland)


Special Mentions

Northwest directed by Michael Noer (Denmark)

Together directed by Hsu Chao-Jen (Taiwan)


Audience Choice Award

Call Girl directed by Mikael Marcimain (Sweden / Ireland / Finland / Norway)


PIXNET Movie Blogger Recommendation Award

Loving directed by Slawomir Fabicki (Poland)



International New Talent Competition Jury

The jury president was director Huang Jianxin. The jury members were, in alphabetical order:

Aditya ASSARAT / producer & director from Thailand
HUANG Jianxin / director from China
Kiki SUGINO / producer & actress from Japan
Yeşim USTAOĞLU / director from Turkey
WEN Tien-Hsiang / critic & CEO of Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival from Taiwan

  • Adviser: Taipei City Government (TCG), Bureau of Audiovisual and Music Industry Development, MOC
  • Co-organizers: Department of Cultural Affairs, TCG and Taipei Culture Foundation © Taipei Culture Foundation and Taipei Film Festival.
  • All Rights Reserved. Best Viewed with IE8 and Firefox 3.0 in 1024x768 resolution
  • System development by Boss Information Consultant Company LTD.